Great Horned Owl

4_Dec_13_Great-Horned-Owl-72

During the week before I left Edisto, there were a trio of Great Horned Owls perched around the neighborhood. One night, I went out to the mailbox and one hooted over head. The call was so profound that I could feel it percussing my organs.

I stood in the sand and listened to the trio call back and forth to each other. They were a great treat over the next few days and a good memory to take along.

When I posted this report to facebook, a friend replied, “They eat cats!” Good to know though my cats were safe and sound inside.

Click here to listen to a duet.

3 thoughts on “Great Horned Owl

  1. Heidi K

    Fabulous; owls are the best, my favourite kind of bird. Ten years ago I had a persian calico cat that looked a lot like an owl, with her flat round face, big round eyes, and tufty ears. Great pick for the painting, which turned out beautifully.

  2. Susan Barlowe

    This would make such a beautiful card. I love owls too. I read today that The snowy owl might possibly be spotted in the Raleigh area. Some were spotted at the outer banks (Cape Hatteras). They can be seen in daylight.

  3. suzannemcdermott Post author

    Thank you, both. And thanks, Susan for that interesting article on the snowy owl. (Remember when we had to clip those thing, put them in an envelope, address the envelope and stamp the thing?

Leave a Reply

