Guitar Ted

28mar15_GuitarTed-150

When I was touring as a performing songwriter, I once played at a restaurant in Atlantic Beach, Florida. As the owner paid me, she handed me this little Teddy Bear and said, “He wants to travel with you now.”

I put him in the small compartment in my guitar case where he lived with my capos, extra strings and tuner and there he lived for many years.

I’d bring him out while I was performing and he sat with my accessories on a stool by the mic. One evening, between songs at a hotel in Charleston, South Carolina, a woman came over and showed me the same bear in a taupe-y brown. She told me that her bear lived in her golf club case and went with her wherever she traveled to play golf.

Guitar Ted—a traveling bear.

Leave a Reply

